Pet Peeves

I went to a movie this weekend.  Big deal you say.  Well I don’t go to them very often because I hate to pay that kind of money when I know the movie will be out in a month or two and I can pay half the price.  BUT I do like the “whole experience”, you know big screen and sickeningly buttery popcorn so I do go occasionally.   Now you may think because I’m ranting about the price of movies that would be my pet peeve.  Not so, my bigger pet peeve is people who TALK during movies.  I don’t care if you are whispering, I can still hear you.  IF you ask one more time “What did he say?” I may just reach over your gigantic popcorn and slap you silly.  Really.  It’s just rude.  And don’t even get me started on people who bring their baby to the movie instead of paying for a babysitter.  Trust me, the baby will not sleep through the guns, car chases and huge megatronic explosions.  Especially when their mommy is involved in fisticuffs with the mad woman who is trying to slap her for talking.

My next pet peeve is cell phones.  Now, I have a cell phone and no land line so I understand the benefits but really if you can’t put the thing away and focus on where you are at right now, you should probably stay home.  I also went to a high school soccer game this weekend and had the misfortune to sit next to a woman (a mom no less) who couldn’t seem to watch the game as she was too busy calling people.  Now, if she was calling them to say, “Jr just scored the winning goal” or “I’m sorry your dog died and I understand why you had to cancel the party tonight” I would be totally supportive but to call at that particular time to say, “I just realized that I need Sue’s phone number do you have it?” And then she calls Sue to say “Hi, what’s going on? Oh no reason, just wanted to say hi”.   She too deserves a slap.  Especially when she hangs up and asks me, “What did I miss?”  I really wanted to say, “Lady you’ll miss more than you can make up for”.  Another slap for the person in the store who doesn’t realize that they are shouting and I don’t care to know the details of their latest date/conquest or bout of loose bowels.  Really.

Leave a Reply

